Alternatieve iPhone app stores stop working when you travel outside of the EU

iOS 17.4 is the first version of Apple’s operating system to comply with the regulatory framework of the European Digital Markets Act. Apple must also support alternative app stores, where apps can be installed around the App Store.

The availability of this functionality is only geographically limited to the EU, and Apple has revealed for the first time that alternative app stores will stop working if you leave the EU for too long.

Furthermore, your Apple ID must be set to one of the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

The exact period during which you can travel outside the EU is not specified.

Source: Alternatieve iPhone appwinkels werken niet meer als je buiten de EU reist – Emerce

Robin Edgar

Organisational Structures | Technology and Science | Military, IT and Lifestyle consultancy | Social, Broadcast & Cross Media | Flying aircraft