In response to a chorus of complaints from its users, Uber is revamping privacy settings that it rolled out last fall.
Beginning this week, Uber riders using the iOS version of the ride-hailing company’s app will find a new series of privacy prompts that includes the ability to deny Uber the right to track your whereabouts. Uber is working on similar tweaks to the Android version of its app.
The new options for Uber app users are: Always (Uber is allowed to collect rider location information from the moment the app is opened until the trip ends), While Using The App (information flows to Uber while the app is visible on the screen) and Never (no info is transmitted but riders have to manually input their pick-up and drop-off locations).
One of the old privacy features that gave many users pause was Uber’s ability to track the whereabouts of riders up to 5 minutes after a ride was completed.
Uber says the 5-minute feature was never activated on the iOS version of its app, and that it was disabled a few months after being initiated on the Android version.